out and about: the temporium

On Thursday evening, I went along to London’s latest pop-up design shop; The Temporium, a collaboration between Dezeen, Deborah Spencer and Alice Breed. It featured some of my favourite designers, so I was very excited – and I wasn’t disappointed.

The Temporium

The Temporium

The first things I spotted were… Charlene Mullen‘s lovely cushions, depicting London scenes, trees and animals.

Charlene Mullen cushions

Charlene Mullen cushions

This one was my favourite (she looked like a good cuddly sofa pal!)…

Charlene Mullen cushion - my favourite!

Charlene Mullen cushion - my favourite one!

Then I spotted the Plumen lightbulb – making energy-saving cool, one lightbulb at a time.

Plumen energy saving lightbulb

Plumen energy-saving lightbulb

Shan Valla‘s little birds caught my eye – and I loved the colour palate of this collection; a range of soft greys, white and little accents of gold.

Shan Valla's birds and vases

Shan Valla's birds and vases

Shan Valla vases

Shan Valla vases

Miranda Watkins had a gorgeous collection of tabletop ware, again in some fab colour ways.

Miranda Watkins

Miranda Watkins

And most excitingly of all (well, for me anyway!) I finally got to meet the fabulous Hannah Dipper, and check out all the lovely tableware from People Will Always Need Plates.

Hannah Dipper, People Will Always Need Plates

Hannah Dipper, People Will Always Need Plates

People Will Always Need Plates Shipyard Platter

People Will Always Need Plates Shipyard Platter

Max Fraser was signing copies of the London Design Guide, but I missed him! Such a shame because LDG is one of my favourite books, and in fact it rarely leaves my handbag – you never know when you might have time to sneak in a quick design walk.

London Design Guide

London Design Guide

These seat / foot stool sheep from Theo were adorable…

Theo sheep

Theo sheep

…and I also loved their blue felt bucket bins, which were a gorgeous soft grey colour inside.

Theo felt bucket bin

Theo felt bucket bin

Overall a good time was had by all.

Temporium launch night

Temporium launch night

Further reading for the especially geeky:

In the interests of complete openness, I do just want to mention that I received a goody bag on arrival at this event (which was very exciting – my first official blogger’s goody bag!). I wasn’t expecting it, and so it didn’t affect my decision to attend or feature this event, neither did its contents affect which designers I included. But many thanks to the organisers – it was lovely!

One response to “out and about: the temporium

  1. Oh I missed this event; Shame I love charlene textiles.

Leave a Reply

