out and about :: london transport museum

I made (well, decorated!) some tumbler glasses! As part of “Moquette for London” at the London Transport Museum, I attended a workshop by The Make Lounge and designed my own glasses inspired by tube seat fabric patterns.

Glass tumbler

Glass tumbler

Start with one tumbler, cleaned with window cleaner…

… a moquette design for inspiration (I chose the simplest one!)…

Moquette design

Moquette design

and these rather clever pens, which will mark glass and become permanent once baked in an oven, and you’re off!

Glass colour pen

Glass colour pen

Applying the first marks

Applying the first marks

First colour applied

First colour applied

And the finished article

And the finished article!

What I really loved about this event was just how many people had turned up to paint glasses inspired by tube seats… there really are a lot of geeky design people out there and one of the wonderful things about the London Design Festival is how it brings us all together.

Further reading for the especially geeky:

4 responses to “out and about :: london transport museum

  1. I’ve been looking for posts as interesting as yours for a while. It is nice to know you can find on the web. I’ve bookmarked your blog and hope you will continue posting such intersting posts.

  2. I’ve been looking for posts as interesting as yours for a while. It is nice to know you can find quality on the web. I’ve bookmarked your blog and hope you will continue posting such intersting posts

  3. I love your blog. I stumbled across it because I’ve just started a blog and it looks like we both went to the Moquette for London event. Your glass painting turned out a lot better than mine!
    http://therubtest.wordpress.com/2010/10/03/the-rub-test-a-moquette-for-london/

  4. This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article.

Leave a Reply

