here’s one I made earlier :: bathroom design

A while ago, I showed you my bathroom concept board, developed as part of the klc Diploma in Interior Design, and I promised you that I would show the bathroom design that resulted.

William Holland Bateau bath

William Holland Bateau bath

Whilst I’m (still!) not quite finished inking up all the drawings and compiling the furniture booklet, I can give you a sneak peek into some of the items I’ve chosen to include. 

William Holland bath and shower mixer

William Holland bath and shower mixer

Glass sink

Glass sink

Healey and Lord Nautilus toilet and bidet

Healey and Lord Nautilus toilet and bidet

Louis XVI Ghost Chair by Philippe Starke for Kartell

Louis XVI Ghost Chair by Philippe Starke for Kartell

Random Light by Pot Bertjan for Moooi

Random Light by Pot Bertjan for Moooi

AQHayon Collection storage cabinet bathroom

AQHayon Collection storage cabinet bathroom

Laura Ashley Constellation Mirror

Laura Ashley Constellation Mirror

Surface finishes

Surface finishes

Surface finishes: 1. Limestone floor and wall tiles (Stone Style) 2. Gold metallic ceiling paint (Crown ‘millionaire’) 3. White bath and spa paint for one wall and woodwork (Benjamin Moore) 4. Wrought iron bath and spa paint for remaining walls (Benjamin Moore)

 

I’d love to hear your thoughts. Do they reflect the concept board? Do they hang together as a scheme? Do you like them?!

You might also be interested in:

Further reading for the especially geeky:

14 responses to “here’s one I made earlier :: bathroom design

  1. oooooh I am so excited to see the end result! Looking at the images it looks so interesting, I am getting a rather stylish mix of contemporary & classical feel here…..cannot wait for you to share 🙂

  2. I especially like the gold-colored tub at the top. Something like this would be the ultimate in elegance and luxury.

    • Arianna, Joseph,

      Thank you so much for the lovely comments! I have struggled a bit with this project, so it’s really reassuring to get some positive feedback. Thank you.

      K

  3. Katie, this is very interesting… I think charcoal greys adore gold / metallic tones so you’ve pulled a blinder with that one. I also like the accessories you’ve picked because there is a calming balance of clean lines vs texture/detail and in my opinion, getting that balance right is one of the most important aspects of (interior) design. I’m a little nervous of the black loo/bidet and wash basin unit and so I’m particularly keen to see how you’re going to bring those together. (I can see the challenge of bringing in white fixtures with that palette.)

    You may find this interesting – if you haven’t seen it before. (I have my hair done at Taylor & Taylor, occasionally and the wash room is pretty spectacular although not particularly fit for purpose – too dark to be applying toners etc.) http://www.taylortaylorlondon.com/gallery-comstreet

  4. Hi Katie, It all looks great and I’m sure it’s going to really come together in the drawings. My only slight worry is…drawing together the sink and the bath as they are a very different style. One is very gold and one is very chrome – you could bring these together either with a change of sink or through some more gold accessories or with a gold splash back behind the sink that will draw the two together a little easier. I don’t want to be too critical just looking at the products but from my experience this is a little problem that may jump out when it’s all finished. I’m really looking forward to seeing the layouts and drawings though as you may prove me compeltely wrong…. it has happened a few times 😉

  5. Ha! I hadn’t read Heather’s comments – yes Taylor Taylor has brought the black and gold together very well. I love having my hair washed in that room as it is so calming and glam!

  6. What an exciting project, Katie! But, yes, quite a big undertaking as well. I really like the finishes you’ve chosen, and the charcoal colourways feel relaxing to me – perfect for a bathroom. Good choice! Love the Laura Ashley starburst, but like Heather, I’m not a big fan of the black suite.

    Btw, I heard on the grapevine that Habitat on Regent Street is closing down, so they might have some great bargains on offer if it’s true. Could be good for a last minute buy! Good luck. x

    • Will,

      Sadly it’s just a college project not a real one! Thanks so much for the comments – really helpful. I’m quite keen on the black toilet and bidet, although wobbling on the sink a little! Thanks again!

      K xx

  7. Great job, Katie! Can’t wait to see the whole thing.

    I am starting on this one as well and finding it a bit hard to find the right fixtures for what I have in mind.

  8. Cool blog, and great job! I love looking though fellow student’s work. Its such good validation to help Open Learning students like me. I too blog; it’s such a great creative outlet. Although I haven’t posted any of my work yet, it’s a great way to get feedback. Can’t wait to see the end result of this. I’m sure it’ll be rad! x Jo

Leave a Reply

