here’s one I made earlier :: blah blah pocket monster

I love Donna Wilson. I love her products, I love her brand… I even love her outfits. The thing is, try as I may, I just can’t convince the boy that we should spend £70 on a cushion, not even a 100% lambswool, knitted in Scotland, grey with ebony robin, 40cm x 40cm, comes with a duck feather cushion pad, Donna Wilson cushion.

Donna Wilson 'Make Your Own Monster' kit

Donna Wilson 'Make Your Own Monster' kit

So imagine my joy when I spotted this Donna Wilson Make Your Own Monster kit in the Design Museum Shop! And for only £15! This is what was inside…

Inside of my Make Your Own Monster kit

Inside of my Make Your Own Monster kit

Now, I think this product is a very clever idea. These are essentially waste products – offcuts and left overs from other Donna Wilson products. Instead of throwing them away, Donna has created a whole new product with them, at minimal cost. Helping the environment, her profits and my ability to get my hands on a Donna Wilson product for a lot less than £70 – it’s a win-win-win!

Cutting out the pre-sewn monster body

Cutting out the pre-sewn monster body

The first step was to carefully cut around the pre-sewn monster body, about a centimetre away from the stitching all the way around.

Stuffing the monster

Stuffing the monster

Next I turned the monster body inside out (or the right way round) and filled it with the stuffing – and amazingly it all fit in there!

Sewing up the hole

Sewing up the hole

Then (with my very basic sewing skills!), I sewed up the hole, and voila, a monster body…

The monster body

The monster body

Now the fun begins. The next step is to use the bits and bobs provided to create eyes, ears, nose(s), legs, arms etc. Luckily, there were a few ideas on the box to get the creative juices flowing…

Ideas for monsters

Ideas for monsters

I tried a few different options before deciding what my monster was going to look like…

Monster idea 1

Monster option 1

Monster idea 2

Monster option 2

Monster idea 3

Monster option 3

I decided to turn my monster up-side-down to give him legs and use some of the offcuts from cutting out the body itself to give him ears and a tail…

Monster with ears

Monster with ears

Monster with ears and tail

Monster with ears and tail

I found some buttons in my travel sewing kit that I used for eyes and used the spiky blue bit of felt from the kit as hair…

Monster with ears, tail, eyes and hair

Monster with ears, tail, eyes and hair

And then finally I made him a little pocket from Donna Wilson’s famous ‘blah blah’ fabric, to keep his spare parts in. And the Blah Blah Pocket Monster was born!

Monster with ears, tail, eyes, hair, pocket and spare parts

Monster with ears, tail, eyes, hair, pocket and spare parts

You may also enjoy:

You might also be interested in:
8 responses to “here’s one I made earlier :: blah blah pocket monster

  1. love it! what a great idea. I think I may get a couple of these for my nieces as birthday presents. Thanks for posting Katie x

  2. Donna wilson!?!?!
    I love its product too!!!! Its products are so cute and creative. What a lovely monster!

  3. This is so cute! I love how creative you got. Nice job 🙂

  4. They are great!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. I love that, it’s so cute! I love her cushions too, I like the owl ones.
    Did you see the Kenneth Grange exhibition?

Leave a Reply

